Being a Good Friend and Why It’s Bad for Your Web Series

Before getting into the detriments of friendship, I want to mention how happy I am whenever an ad for a show I love shows up as pre-roll on my YouTube videos. It makes me feel like somehow the algorithms equate our shows, like the audience crosses over. In reality, it probably just means they’re casting the widest possible net, but I don’t care, LET ME HAVE THIS! The last time I loaded up the “We’re Going to Webfest” update, the pre-roll ad was for True Detective season 2. I can’t wait. It just looks so dire and hopeless. I used to get little butterflies in my stomach whenever ads for LOST showed up next to our videos. Ah, the good times, before the LOST finale.

So, we went to a show that our friends were putting on last weekend and as our friend Kat gave us our tickets—and our swag feather’y pens—she said, “You guys have been really great at showing up to stuff lately.” I quickly played back the past few months in my head and thought—Damn it. She’s right. We’ve been really good at supporting our friends’ endeavors lately. Shows, album releases, birthday parties, dinners, movie nights. No wonder we’re so broke all the time. But what the whole thing really boiled down to was one perfectly crystalized panic package. This episode is never going to get finished if I don’t start staying home more.

Take a look at this video update from exactly four years ago. From :55 seconds in to the 2:07 mark is a two-angle time lapse of me sitting in our tiny home office on a weekend and working on episode 5 for 13 hours.

And that’s just a fraction of the time I need to spend if I want to get this doggone thing sewn up. Still, last night, instead of working on VFX for four hours, I worked on VFX for an hour and a half, shot part of a freelance video project, and went to Mad Max: Fury Road with my friend Craig. Tonight, I could prioritize episode 9 and get at least a solid two or three hours of VFX work done. Instead, it’s looking like I’m going to go to the gym and have some dinner before going to celebrate my friend David’s birthday at a bar and a midnight screening of The Room. So…

It’s easier to make a web series if you’re surrounded by a group of dedicated and like-minded friends. But socially engaging with that group of friends doesn’t make it easier to get that episode accomplished in a timely manner.

I hope you guys have a good weekend, and that I have a productive one.

Thanks for reading.

–Jake

One Response to “Being a Good Friend and Why It’s Bad for Your Web Series”

  1. You’re doing it right. Relationships are priceless.

Leave a Reply

