The Most Productive Day

I finally did it. Yesterday I achieved the ultimate dream. I accomplished everything I meant to do all in one day. I transcribed over 3,500 words of interviews during my work day; read several chapters of Patton Oswald’s new book Silver Screen Fiend; worked for a half hour on a VFX shot for episode 9; went to the gym and ran 4.6 miles on the treadmill while watching some of Scream 2; had dinner with my lovely wife; spent another half hour finishing that VFX shot, thereby completing my daily one-hour quota for PoPS weekday work time; and watched a whole movie, She’s All That, before going to bed.

The really nice thing is that none of it felt particularly like I was overextending myself. I felt a little dazed at the end of all the transcription, but that’s just par for the course. Nothing makes my brain feel as overheated and mushy as a long, full day of working with words. Punching the keys for hours and hours is a different kind of tiring. It never feels better to sit in silence for a few minutes than after closing the laptop on one of those sessions.

I did a lot, it was a nice balance of have-to-do and want-to-do, and at the end of it I really felt justified in laying down.

I’ve also finally realized that in order to be productive I have to spend less time on all social media platforms. And it’s not a simple 1:1 transfer of the time I spend on Twitter could be spent on making something. It’s the fact that the more I look at all of the things being accomplished by everybody else, the less motivated I am to do anything myself. The fact that anything I make will immediately get lost in the social media shuffle makes me feel like nothing is worth doing. So, by not looking at it while trying to work, my mind is on the things I find interesting about this singular part of this particular project, not how what I’m doing is just another tiny drop in the vast onslaught of creative content being uploaded to the internet every day. Process, not product. Exploration, not output.

That’s what I’ve been thinking about this week.

Thanks for reading.

–Jake

Leave a Reply

