Getting Ready to Go Again

I think that last blog post was just the kick I needed to stop procrastinating and kick this thing into gear. I went home that night, printed off all my tagged script breakdowns, calculated my eighths page count, and created some shooting blocks. A couple nights later, Eliza and I sat down and dropped them onto the calendar. I’ve sent that noise off to the actors and so far got back a couple of conflicts that need to be dealt with, which I will reschedule around soon.

I also got in touch with a weapons property master I used a couple years ago to set up the weapons for this episode.

Then Eliza and I talked about a couple of specialty props we need to move to the front burner and started discussing some locations we need to line up.

The last two nights we’ve met with actors who weren’t able to make it to the cast read through to work through the dialogue and make sure we’re all on the same page before we get to set. That’s a huge deal and outside of a read through, it’s something I haven’t given enough attention in the past. Luckily, we’ve had actors who are good at processing notes and adapting on set, but front-loading a little performance groundwork into pre-production is a really solid idea. Just from these last two nights, I could see the difference. We got to have some really productive conversations without slowing down the pace of a shoot night.

So the wheels are in motion. I’m sure I’ll talk about it in an upcoming update, but there is a certain crazy energy that comes with being in production. My normal indecisiveness about what to have for dinner or watch after work goes straight out the window and I drop into solutions/work around/results mode. Sure, sometimes I still feel a little more like playing video games than making shot lists or trading emails about schedules, locations, and gear, but in the words of MC Hammer on the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990) soundtrack, “This is what we do.”

Thanks for reading.

–Jake

Leave a Reply

