A Quick Thanksgiving Blog

Thanksgiving time! Time to think about what we’re thankful for. Even though I’m thankful for so many things—my wife would top that particular list—my internet presence is based primarily around video production, so I’ll keep this post limited to that.

I’m very thankful to be working on the eighth episode of a story of my own devising. I’m thankful to have a group of people around who are willing to expend so much time and energy helping me make it happen. That’s a very rare thing indeed. Anyone who started making movies with the family video camera as a kid can attest to that. You start out with a group of your friends coming over to be a part of it. Soon that group dwindles to a few. Soon, you’re lucky if one of your friends is willing to stick around when that camera comes out. Eventually, you find the other kids that were obsessed with their family’s camcorders. Telecom and film classes are good for that. Then, as long as you’re making something people are into, they’ll keep showing up. I can’t believe I’m still mostly working with the same group of folks we started with 4 years ago. I’m thankful for the massive cast of new characters we’ve now assembled. I’m ridiculously thankful that people help us fund the show. I can’t believe it. Making our episode 8 goal on Indiegogo was so exciting and I couldn’t believe it actually happened. For some reason, it was the most exciting one yet. I’m thankful that podcasters have taken keener interest in PoPS this year for reviews and interviews. I’m thankful that we’ve been accepted to more festivals this year and I’m incredibly grateful for all the awards, especially winning Best Series at GenCon. I’m thankful that Eliza is such an awesome producer and helps me keep as much of my sanity as possible while planning for and executing difficult shoot days. And I’m very grateful that we only have two and a half episodes of PoPS left to shoot. Finishing this show will be huge and feel like way more of a milestone than turning 30 did. Whatever the next project is, I’m very curious to see what the post-PoPS world is like.

We had another shoot day this week.

Day 14-Monday, November 25. Cast and crew were fully assembled about a half hour behind schedule by 8:30pm at an awesome discount arcade we love called Nickel City. My sister Emi, who does a lot of music for the show, finally got to attend a production night.ImageShe crossed through the back of every shot in different guises. Her finest performance though was as the girl in the background playing Dance Dance Revolution. Truly, her background dancing talents have been wasted thus far in her life. Wantonly so. While waiting for everyone to show up, I handed out nickels to the early arrivers so they could take advantage of our locations many games. We had about 15 minutes of playtime left after we finished shooting too. A group of us headed out to Steak and Shake to decompress with burgers, shakes, and coffee after a very stressless shoot night. It was awesome.

We’re in the eye of the storm right now as far as production is concerned. October was a madhouse and the beginning of November was hit and miss. Thanks to rain-outs and the pending holiday, we’ve now had two weeks in a row with only one shoot day per week. We’ve gotten like three pages in two weeks. Once December kicks off, we’ve got a few weeks of more regular shooting. Indoors too, where it can’t get rained-out. But I feel like I’m just drifting in a production purgatory right now. I feel like I should be trying to get more done, but I don’t regret not trying to pack too much in around the holidays. We did that during 6 and…nightmare.

I’m glad we started shooting this episode as soon as possible. It’s already snowed three times this month and it’s intolerably cold out even though it’s not even December. We’re paying for that mild winter we had while shooting episode 6.

I hope you’re all well. Thanks for reading.

–Jake

One Response to “A Quick Thanksgiving Blog”

  1. you’re the top of my list, too, love! truly, we have much to be thankful for.

    it’s a little meta, but i’m thankful that we have a holiday that is dedicated to looking at your life and appreciating it’s good qualities. and eating. alllll of the eating.

Leave a Reply

