Collabs

One of the standard tools of YouTube audience building are collabs. Collabs, I’m sure you’ll be hyper-shocked to find out, are the abbreviated form of saying collaboration videos. You find someone else on YouTube with similar interests or a similar style of content and you collab…orate. Usually without being in the same place. You each shoot your individual parts and the person who suggested the collab has to edit everything together, it goes up on their channel, and both channels promote it in the hopes of fostering audience crossover and growth for both channels. BOOM. These can be hard to organize. People are super busy. The more subscribers they get the busier they get. I recently tried to get a collab going for a Cinematic Study Guide and though the folks I reached out to said they were up for it, our schedules never aligned.

I’ve used the spirit of the collab in PoPS newscasts. In episodes 4 and 5, whenever a newscast comes on, those are other YouTubers appearing as newscasters and witnesses. I think they all did a great job, but I also think it’s hilarious the way the microphones keep changing. I don’t know why that’s so funny to me. I’ve been able to arrange some fairly prominent cameos thanks to the help of my buddy Craig using his clout to reach out to them. I also had contact with an author I’m a big fan of, J.A. Konrath, he’s at the forefront of the e-books movement and has made a lot of money through self publishing and speaking out against the parts of traditional publishing he has a problem with. I sent him an email asking him to be a lynchpin character in episode 7. He said he’d do it if I would agree to a rewrite he did on his character. He did a hilarious rewrite that enabled it to be more of a crossover with his social media persona and I loved it, it was just too much of a departure from the series so that was another collab that didn’t work out. Several times I’ve agreed to be part of collabs where I wasn’t entirely pleased with the end results. Interactions like that leads to many people distrustful of sending footage in to any collab. But here are a couple of examples of collabs that I think are great.

Thanks for reading!

–Jake

Leave a Reply

