Going Back to PoPS and L.A.

So, yeah. We’re going to the Los Angeles Web Series Festival the last weekend in March. I haven’t been back to LA for a couple years, since Vine Shorts Fest screened Twisted Thicket in Santa Monica. I always get excited to go back though. Things I’d like to do: Get to the Arclight (my current favorite movie theater, I’ve never been to an Alamo Drafthouse), get an In-N-Out Burger, drive down Ventura, drive Laurel Canyon Boulevard, hang out at Citywalk, head to Santa Monica beach…The unrealistic list goes on. We’re heading in for the weekend, so I’ll probably spend most of my time at the fest, checking out other kickass web series and taking to other creators. We might get away for a couple things, but we’ll have to narrow the focus a lot. Eliza wants to get to Mel’s Drive-in for her favorite burger in the world, the Sunset Burger, and I’m definitely going to make that happen. If we go to the one in the valley, it’s right on Ventura, so I could get my drive down Ventura in. Oooh! I’ve never been to the New Beverly though. Tarantino’s movie theater. That would really be something. Check it out: They’re a revival movie theater that programs double features. Two movies for 8 bucks. Sounds like heaven. I want to go to there. When the owner died, Tarantino bought it, continued under the management of the family that previously owned it, and he said, “”As long as I’m alive, and as long as I’m rich, the New Beverly will be there, showing double features in 35mm.” How much do I love that? Oh, LA. My relationship with you is so conflicted. Really looking forward to the festival too. There’s going to be so many web series folks there, I can’t wait to swap some stories. Eliza and I got our hotel reservation yesterday.

Then, I brought our computer in to this guy on a lunch break, he upgraded everything worth upgrading, and its like having a whole new machine. It moves so much faster, I’m ridiculously excited.

I’m finally cutting Ep7 of PoPS. I feel like I’ve been waiting for this for months. Wait. I HAVE been waiting for this for months. Things look great so far. I’ll have tales of progress for you next week. Along with a screenwriting tutorial video.

Take it easy.

–Jarvi

One Response to “Going Back to PoPS and L.A.”

  1. sunset burger, i’m coming for you! you forgot about maybe meeting people! oh, goodness, we are never gonna get all this in.

Leave a Reply

