Falling into Frame by Frame

After weeks of production, moving into post is always a little bit of a shock to the system. Production is such a hyperactive enterprise. For crew folk it’s just wall to wall activity and troubleshooting. Actors tend to have a very different experience of production with the hours of sitting around followed by a few moments of intense experience followed once again by hours of sitting around. For me as the director, production is a whirlwind of exhilaration and frustration during which hours just disappear. It’s a lot of fun, a lot of stress, and after each day wraps I feel like we really accomplished something. This time I’ve had everybody telling me how well shooting was scheduled. Most days we had enough time to not feel like we were going crazy, falling behind with every minute that passed, and I gotta tell you, it’s a much better shooting environment. We got some great stuff and I’m really looking forward to cutting it together.

The transition into post after the flurry of production is always a little rough, but never has it been more of a shock to the system than this time. I usually dive right into editing the stuff we just shot and it feels like a way to process those recent experiences in a fresh way and see them in their appropriate context. You start to see the thing actually come together for the first time and it’s a more than a little invigorating. This time however, I’m diving straight back into the VFX for episode 6 and going from the bustle of production to the frame by frame battle of VFX is a real gears grinder. It’s like I downshifted straight from fifth to first while still traveling at 60. I’m surprised my transmission didn’t just explode. Wow, that was a very masculine simile. I feel pretty tough right now.

Speaking of tough, while divvying up the remainder of the VFX shots, Ryan gave me an hour and a half long tutorial on how he created a particular effect I’m taking over. Good grief, that guy’s process is crazy. So many layers! But it looks good, so I’m trying my best to emulate it. Nothing to do now but try and finish post on 6 as fast as we can. Without compromising quality. Doggone quality. Making things so tough.

Thanks for reading.

–Jarvi

One Response to “Falling into Frame by Frame”

  1. Yay! Carry on, McDuff! I know it will be worth the wait, but I’m so anxious to see the final product!

Leave a Reply

