Do What You Can

I’ve been coming to the realization that we’re not going to finish post on episode 6 before we start shooting episode 7. A couple factors have gone into this. Ever since the first episode we’ve done the episodes one at a time. I write the script, we shoot everything, we tackle all the elements of post, and I upload it. Only then do I start on the next script. With the last two episodes, we’ve added the fundraising in between writing and shooting, but one-at-a-time has always been the formula. When we decided to try episode 6 and 7 back-to-back I overloaded our shooting schedule past the point of impracticality into impossibility. Since then, we’ve been trying to get everything back on track. Episode 6 is shaping up beautifully and people who have seen effects-less work prints have all thought it’s wonderful, but I wrote way too many effects into it; very difficult effects that needed to be designed from the ground up and rendered in three dimensions. A ridiculous amount of hours have dropped into what will eventually be a very small amount of screen time. We had no idea how complicated these shots were going to be to execute. But it’s a good thing to know. We had to overreach at some point, and now we have a pretty good benchmark for what we can do without a full post house backing us up. So it just takes more time. Our projected upload date came and went. We’re supposed to be devoting ourselves to pre-production on episode 7 at this point. Instead, we’re prepping for episode 7 while still battling our way through post on 6. We start shooting in a little over two weeks. Pretty soon I’m going to have to just put episode 6 post to the side until we’re done shooting 7 at the end of June. That’s all we can do. Things have stayed hard this time, but I’ve had a surprisingly calm reaction to it. I used to go crazy over this stuff, but I can’t change it, so I’m just going to hold steady for as long as it takes. Right now, the desire to compromise and cut everything way down to hurry it along is very tempting, but I’m just going to hold on to my original vision and see how long everyone can hang in there. They’ve been champions so far and I know they can pull it off if they don’t let it wear them out. We’ll make it. We always do.

Hey, everybody thought Star Wars was a disaster when they were shooting it too. And now that I’ve compared us to one of the forefathers of the blockbuster, I think I can call it a day.

Thanks for reading, guys.

–Jarvi

2 Responses to “Do What You Can”

  1. First! Oh, wait, that’s not for here..
    Anyways. I’ve waited this long, I can wait a little longer.
    And being kept updated helps. I’m almost not embarrassed to say I’m kind of addicted to the updates; My personal (so far) best is being the 50th-ish viewer.

  2. let’s not forget that tucker and dale versus evil was apparently the worst set ever! and, hey, while that movie wasn’t made of pure gold or anything, it was definitely fun! let’s do this episode!

Leave a Reply

