Pre-production Bottleneck

So here we go, into Fundraising Round 2. We decided to use IndieGoGo this time for a couple of reasons:  1-They accept Paypal donations. This is a big one for us. Last time, a whole bunch of people asked us if they could donate with Paypal and Kickstarter didn’t have that functionality. 2-With Indiegogo, you get whatever money you raise, even if you don’t meet your goal. That’s become super important given that we’re asking for twice as much money as we did last time. If we were going to try and make The Platoon of Power Squadron for a low-income living, we might be able to make that happen for $30,000 an episode. At least I think that’s what Ryan was saying. I’m not entirely sure I believe that, but either way, I don’t think there’s any way we could ask our audience to give us that kind of money. We’ll see how asking for $15,000 turns out. The campaign went live on Sunday morning and so far we’ve crossed the $2,300 mark. Fingers crossed we make our goal, it’ll be a kick to the old confidence if we don’t.  Here’s a link to the campaign:

THESE WORDS ARE LINK. KIND OF LIKE A WORMHOLE, EXCEPT INSTEAD OF TRANSPORTING YOU TO ANOTHER PLACE IN SPACE-TIME IT TAKES YOU TO OUR FUNDRAISER FOR EPISODE 6.

I got Chris’s final draft of episode 7 last night and started going through making my creator edits to turn it into a production draft. It’s my very first Creator-run on a script and I’m finding it kind of fun. I just hope that Chris doesn’t feel disappointed with the final version. He put a lot of awesome work into it and I hope he doesn’t feel like I bastardize the whole thing by the end of it. He definitely brought his sensibilities to PoPS and now I’m going through and making sure it stays grounded in the world we created and that the characters feel the same. The only writing program that Chris and I both have access to is Microsoft Word and his by-hand screenplay format—as opposed to screenwriting program (Final Draft, Movie Magic Screenwriter) enforced—is a little different than mine, so I’m also re-formatting as I go. It makes it a slow process, but it’s turning out amazing. I should have a complete script for Ep7 within a few days, which is exactly what I need.

I’ve been feeling torn the last couple weeks. I want to get busy with pre-production on episode 6, but since we’re shooting 6 and 7 together, it feels pointless to start a schedule until we have a production draft of 7. I want to have a read through of 6, but I want to get some of the important episodic guest stars cast before we do, and people seem more interested in getting a shooting schedule together before we hold auditions, which I don’t want to do until we have a production draft of episode 7 so we can schedule the whole thing at once. I should also be shotlisting more of episode 6, but with all of the other things I need to get done it doesn’t feel as important. All of this rattles around in my head until all I want to do is sit on the couch with my wife and watch Modern Family season 2 and Castle season 3. I think this is the stage at which most amateur and hobbyist productions fall apart. Because it’s just not fun.

In badass news this week a full teaser trailer for The Avengers has finally hit the internet. It just makes me wish I was watching it right now. Go Whedon go!

Thanks for reading, guys.

Jarvi out.

One Response to “Pre-production Bottleneck”

  1. I can’t wait to see what you guys will come up with for episodes 6 & 7!

    Has Chris tried to use Celtx as a script writing program? It’s free and it’s awesome. I didn’t know if he had tried it, didn’t like it and then switched back to word. Just a thought! Good luck you guys!

Leave a Reply

