Exhale

I’ve essentially been holding my breath for the last two weeks. I’ve been nervous ever since sending Chris the story outline for episode 7.

I guess it’s kind of like the first time you leave your kid with a babysitter. Well, I have zero frame of reference for that, so that’s probably not fair. Let’s say it’s like loaning a car you built yourself to a friend. You trust them, but you’ve never let anyone else drive that car before, so you’re going to feel distracted until it’s back in your driveway. (I’ve also never built a car, but I do HAVE a car)

It’s not that I thought he couldn’t pull it off, but I had never seen anything that he’d written before. I knew he was a funny guy, that we have similar taste in shows and movies, that he’s like a Swiss Army knife on a set, and that he devoutly devours more media than even I do, but no writing samples. I didn’t even realize how nervous I was, but when he finally emailed me his rough draft on Tuesday, I actually took a deep breath before double-clicking on the file. In about a half a page I exhaled, by a page and a half I was trying not to laugh out loud. It’s good. Dude’s a hell of a funny writer. I gave him a bunch of notes and asked him to have a more polished draft back by the weekend. Then comes the fine tuning. Hopefully, we’ll have a pretty solid shooting script within the next week. Episodes 6 & 7 are going to be amazing.

We’re also getting ready to launch our next fundraising effort. I’ll probably have info on that for you next week.

Thanks for reading.

Jarvi out.

Leave a Reply

