Sizzle Reel

About 4,200 subscribers have shown up in the last couple weeks. That’s a pretty nice little spike. And even though we didn’t win the On The Rise competition, I’m really impressed that we were able to garner more than 21,000 votes in a week. I wish that I had an exact number of votes but I put mustard on mine like an idiot…I mean, I was too distracted when we lost to get a screencap of our vote total or write it down in any manner.

Also last week, I put together a sizzle reel for PoPS. Tim and Ryan—two of the producers—wanted one to use to try and drum up some corporate sponsorship interest in the show and it’ll also work nicely for our fund raising attempt coming up. It’s 52 seconds long and ends in a 15-second, selectable episode menu, DVD stylie. I think that did quite a bit to add to our subscribership as well. I’ve been using it as the main channel video on our YouTube page and I think it presents a nice case for the show. I’ve included it here for your convenience.

Chris says he’s almost done with a draft of episode 7 and I can’t wait to see it so we can hopefully get this show on the road. I’ve been having a little trouble making myself work outside of my day job lately. I sat down to shot list episode 6 and ended up watching Buried. Tonight we’re doing a Back to the Future marathon; 1, 2, and 3 all in a row. Then I’m sure we’ll all be getting back to work. It’s just nice to watch stuff sometimes. Hey! Speaking of awesome movies; I read this on Ain’t It Cool News recently, and I quote:

“…on the set of Raiders of the Lost Ark, Doug Slocombe (Director of Photography) never used a light meter, a cinematographer’s key piece of equipment. It’s how they tell how an image will read on film. Ford held up his hand like he was about to do a karate chop and had his thumb cocked out in front of his palm to demonstrate how Slocombe took readers… Instead of using a light meter he gauged the density of the shadow of his thumb against the palm of his hand. How gangster is that shit?!?” – Eric Vespe “Quint” on Ain’t It Cool News

Thanks for reading, guys.

Jarvi out.

Leave a Reply

