One Year of NexTV Blogging

It’s been a year since I started writing weekly blogs for the NexTV site (which I put up here on the PoPS blog every Wednesday); 52 weeks with an entry every week—I took one week off from it but NexTV’s Randy Becker swept in and put up a “Building a Successful Web Series-Jake Jarvi Speaks” that week. So one full year is behind us. I’m really grateful for the opportunity that Randy gave me by asking me to do a weekly entry. I absolutely wouldn’t have set aside the time to write these without someone waiting for them and giving me a platform, but it’s given me a consistent reason to reflect on no-budget storytelling and the things that fascinate me about the industry. It’s also given me a wonderful record of the experience of making our web serial and that’s something that I’m going to want for forever. NexTV was the impetus for every entry, and I can’t thank them enough for that. Over the last year I’ve watched Randy and the NexTV gang do everything in their power to help talented, passionate content creators break through into the industry that they love and turn their obsession into their profession. It’s amazing what they’ve been able to accomplish and their constant dedication and belief in the storyteller as an artist and entertainer is kind of breathtaking. I’m honored to have my little no-budget, day job cowboy, new media corner of their platform. Thanks, guys.

This past week I finished a first draft of the episode 6 script. It’s 57 pages long without any act breaks, so that will probably stretch to 60 when I add those page breaks. Eliza is taking the first pass on it in her Story Editor capacity as I type this, seeing if there’s any fat to trim or if I crossed any lines. When I started this series I wanted to try to keep every episode under 25 minutes long. I obviously let go of that, stretching it to a half hour. With every episode our audience keeps crying “Longer” so I just wrote everything that I wanted this time without trying to trim anything. If we don’t lose anything before draft 2 (usually the shooting script), I’m sure some of the dialogue scenes will still end up on the cutting room floor. There’s a lot of character banter in this one, and I love it, not to mention the most insane action scene I’ve ever allowed myself to write. I would have started writing episode 7 last night, except…

Community season 2 came out on DVD yesterday. Not too many things keep me from maintaining my after-work work schedule, but new Community episodes will do the trick. We watched two of the four discs last night, I figure we can tear through the other two discs tonight and then it’s back to work. What a great show. I think they suffered a little bit from having the whole hiatus to think about really outlandish, envelope-pushing storylines, but I’m just so happy to be spending time with those characters again.

Thanks for reading, guys. Always.

Jarvi out.

Leave a Reply

