The Week Off

It was so amazing to end up on Geek Tyrant the day after we finished uploading. I get a lot of my movie news from them, so to have our show validated in that way was absolutely nuts. I had sent out some emails to Joey Paur who runs geektyrant.com when we were getting ready to upload Ep5 and also the day we put up part 1. I don’t think I really expected him to respond. I’ve been trying to figure out ways to get some kind of attention from places outside of YouTube, which has a wonderful community but can feel very closed off from the larger world—tons of audience interaction, no industry feedback. Eliza and I were in the car when I got the email saying that he had put us up on the site. When I’m driving, Eliza is nice enough to read me any incoming emails and as she read the email it sounded like the usual nice complimentary messages I get from YouTube watchers, so I was nodding along like—Oh, that’s nice. Then she got to the sign off and said, “Joey Paur, Editor-in-Chief, Geek Ty—“

“YES!!!” I screamed and hit the steering wheel. She must have jumped a foot in the air; I’m surprised she didn’t smash her head. There was a shocked moment of silence and then we both started laughing. It was awesome. It was what I had been waiting for.

This week off has been awesome. I’ve watched so many movies and had a couple good nights of watching TV shows too. Some of the highlights were “4 movie Saturday”: Predators in the morning, Final Destination 5 3D at the theater (even though we had blackouts that shut the projector down twice and we missed a death), Super (a surprising mess of a movie except for Ellen Page), and Ip Man (amazing); and “Terminator Tuesday”: Terminator 1, 2, and 3 back to back from 6:30 pm to 12:30 pm. I’ve also been able to catch up on a bunch of work at my day-job. The only bad thing about it only being a week is that I just get accustomed to the habit of coming home and taking it easy when it’s time to start getting back to work again. So this week I need to buckle down and get to work for the scripts on episodes 6 and 7. This blog will be a good marker of how long it takes me. I’m going to try and keep a better record of my hours this time around. We estimated that it took me around 40 hours to finish the Ep5 script and that was 47 pages. If that’s true, and each one of these scripts takes me 40 hours to complete, I’ll be done in about 4 weeks, since my after-work work schedule usually has me working a minimum of 20 hours a week. The end of summer can get kind of life-busy sometimes, especially in the Midwest, so we’ll just have to wait and see.

I saw this awesome montage of steadicam shots from a whole bunch of movies yesterday, so I thought I’d include it here:

We’ll see how much progress I’ve made by next week.

Thanks for reading, guys.

Jarvi out.

One Response to “The Week Off”

  1. Glad you had a good week, Super was a disappointment? hmm, I was hoping it would be good. either way, we are less than a month away from the conclusion to Archer’s second season. I don’t know if you’re a fan but I love that show. Lately I’ve been obsessed with Louis C.K.’s show on FX, everyone has been talking on the interwebs about this show Breaking Bad…they been talking about it for years. I might get it. Either way, have a good one Jake.

Leave a Reply

