Down to the Wire

By this time next week, 3 parts of episode 5 will be live for public scrutiny. I’ve reached the point in post production where I come home from work and go straight into the little office to work on the show. I surface for a meal, and a kiss from my wife, and then go back to PoPS-work until I absolutely have to go to sleep or suffer the entire next day at the work-what-pays-me. This is just how it gets before a release. The only time this kind of bothers me is on Whedon Wednesdays.

Every Wednesday night my wife and I have a few fine folks come over and we watch stuff. It started out with Buffy and Angel screened in the order in which they aired (Our first time doing it that way). The focus on the work of the great Joss Whedon warranted the name Whedon Wedenesday. But lately, because of the release of Burn Notice season 4, we’ve been having Westen Wednesdays, and this week, while a bunch of people that I like sit in the adjoining room having a Whedon Wednesday, I’ll be in the little office having a Work Wednesday. But when the release date is August 1st and it’s July 27th, that’s just how it’s going to be, little series creator. I know, wise interior voice.

My deadline this time is actually a cast and crew screening on Friday night. I got all of the effects shots Ryan was working on from him last night, I’m getting the 3D effects shots from Leo in Germany tonight after work, and I’m also getting the locked scores for Act II and Act III back from Suede tonight before he goes out of town tomorrow. Somehow our composer, Suede, is never in town for the cast and crew screening. Sad times. A lot of cast and crew are turning out to be out of town, so it might be a smaller screening than I thought. Also sad. But I’ll be pleased to see the episode done, and it looks like it just might work out.

Despite my desire to denoise every shot in the episode, the slow-ass denoiser workflow makes that impossible before the launch date. Further more, my fundamental misunderstanding of how to color correct means that even less shots will end up denoised because I have to re-color correct the ENTIRE EPISODE TEASER before the opening credits, which had previously been denoised. Denoised no longer. Sometimes I wish I had some more post production professionals in my inner circle. A dedicated color corrector would be a good person to know and exploit for their talents.

Since I’ve been embedding a lot of extraneous videos lately, here’s one that I thought was just outstanding. Jon Favreau has been conducting Dinner for Five-style–casual, insider, professional-to-professional– interviews with a bunch of the amazing people that he worked with on Cowboys and Aliens.. Not only does it get me more geared up to see Cowboys and Aliens, but listening to two guys I look up to talking about working with the guys that they look up to is just really cool. Especially Favreau’s “…and you were…in it.”

And can I just mention how insane it is that my weekly updates get more views than that video. What’s wrong with everyone? That’s it. I’m mentioning it in this week’s update.

Thanks for reading, guys. Episode 5, coming right up.

Jarvi out.

2 Responses to “Down to the Wire”

  1. Whedon/ Westen/ Wizard Wednesday will welcome you back with open arms next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

