The New Rule

Between the last two video updates, my wife was away from home for a week. When she was getting ready to go I made all sorts of plans for what I was going to do during my week of “bachelorhood” revisited. The most formed plan was to catch up on “Breaking Bad.” I’ve seen and enjoyed almost all of season 1, but Eliza isn’t a fan—it’s a little too dire for her—so I was going to use that time to watch it all. Wrong. I worked the whole time. I would get done with work at my day-job, go home and edit on the episode until about midnight, and then watch as much of a horror movie as I could before I fell asleep. With the exception of one night where I met my mother for dinner, that’s how I spent my entire week. Then there was Saturday. Without the day-job to contend with, I was able to pull a 13-hour day on PoPS. I was hoping for more, but my alarm didn’t go off and I slept until 9:30. The night before I had downloaded a free program called Gawker that you can set to take pictures at whatever time increments you want using the built in camera on your computer. I’m sure people primarily use this to spy on their significant other or generally stalk people, but I downloaded it on both our desktop computer and my wife’s laptop and had them take a picture every 30 seconds to create a dual-perspective synchronized time-lapse of 14 hours of my Saturday. That will be the centerpiece of next week’s video update.

The point of the story is that I got a TON of stuff done. I was able to finish fairly solid cuts of the five and half minute intro to the episode and the 5-ish minute Act 1, including finishing and incorporating some of the effects that are my responsibility. I’m taking some of the easier compositing work and Ryan, also our D.P., is going to be tackling the harder stuff because he’s way better at it. Seeing as how I got so much done, I’ve instituted a new editing rule for myself: At least 2 hours per day will be spent working on PoPS. That’s an absolute minimum for every day, barring tragedy, of course. Even on Whedon Wednesdays, for which we are watching “Buffy” and “Angel” in sequence, I will miss about 2 and a half episodes before joining the festivities. Even on Fridays, which historically are reserved for doing no work after work, you’ll find me hunkered down in the office. I’m really digging the way 5 is coming together and I want to push myself to get it done as soon as possible. 1 hour a night has me quitting just when I’m getting into the zone, 3 hours a night would be ridiculously unfair to the personal life I enjoy. 2 is a nice compromise. And as I said in an earlier post, compromise is like gravity for a day-job cowboy, it’s ever-present and inescapable.

Thanks for reading.

Jarvi out.

One Response to “The New Rule”

  1. I just want to say a quick thank you for working so hard on PoPS. It’s great that you’re so dedicated to this project. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

