Finding yourself on the internet

I’m not talking about the search for personal identity. Trying to do that on the internet would probably result in some kind of suicide pact. I’m talking about googling yourself. Anyone who says they don’t google themselves is lying. Unless they’re too cool to “google” and instead they “yahoo” or “bing” themselves like a bunch of hipsters. But now that PoPS has been around for a couple of years (or I guess October will be the actual 2 year anniversary of uploading episode 1), it has started to get a little bit of a life of its own on the internet. People other than myself and my friends, otherwise known as total strangers, are putting their own time and energy into thinking about the show and it’s starting to pop up in various places.

The first and most obvious place for stuff to start appearing was on the PoPS Facebook page. It arrived in the form of “fan art” such as these:

When we got that first one, I was so excited that I wrote a huge email to the girl who drew it, going crazy about how awesome I thought it was. I went totally fan boy on her fan art. My wife loved it too, especially as someone who enjoyed looking at fanfic and fan art for shows and manga that she liked as an adolescent. She liked it so much that she knit the hat that the girl drew her wearing. My mom even framed it for us. That’s EXACTLY how lame we are. We went absolutely fan crazy over our fan art. I use the “me” from the second one as my Twitter avatar and the “me” from the third one as my Gmail avatar.

Shortly after the fan art started, someone put PoPS in the TV Tropes wiki website and catalogued some of the common TV tropes that are used in the series. Here’s a link to the PoPS page on TV Tropes:

 http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/ThePlatoonOfPowerSquadron

I personally like the “limited wardrobe” trope; maybe because I like the presence of the words “For some unexplained reason…” appearing in any summation of my work. I have no idea why that would be.

Please excuse the language in this next one, but I didn’t create it. It’s a page on tumblr that’s called Fuck Yeah Platoon of Power Squadron. The coolest/strangest things on it are the screen grabs with the lines of dialogue subtitled in comic book style.  Like this:

I absolutely love it. It’s like seeing snapshots of dialogue I wrote that someone connected with in a tangible way. The fact that people I’ve never met spent that kind of time thinking about the show and commemorating a part of it is outstanding. Here’s a link to the site:

 http://fuckyeahplatoonofpowersquadron.tumblr.com/

The last one is the strangest and whenever I show people they think it’s hysterical. It’s another tumblr page called Smug Jake Jarvi where someone is generating memes of me with select quotes from the video updates surrounding my face. This one is my friend Evangeline’s favorite:

There are a bunch of these, most of my favorites can be found under the archives tab. I don’t know what possessed someone to do this, but I think it’s fantastic and I’m absolutely flattered to be an internet meme for smugness:

 http://smugjakejarvi.tumblr.com/

I’d love to hear about anything strange and wonderful people have found when googling themselves.

Until next week, thanks for reading.

Jarvi out.

Leave a Reply

