Down time-ish

This week has been pretty slow. One of our cast members just went on tour with his band so we’re limited in the amount of shooting we can do. I spent last night organizing auditions for this coming weekend for some of the episodic roles that need casting in ep5. A sometimes-colleague of Tim and Ryan is letting us hold auditions at his office, so we have a nice space for the call. We’re scheduled to hold auditions this Sunday the 13th. Later that night, my wife, Eliza, also known as The Princess of the 4th Dimension on PoPS, and I are headed over the Lake Forest College to be on their radio station. We should be on between 9 and 11 p.m. CST, and they stream it live in case anyone wants to listen in—wmxm.org. All things considered, life is pretty good. Except…

The last video store by my apartment is falling to the wayside. Soon there will be no more shelves to browse when the wife and I feel like renting a movie. This saddens me unbelievably. Video stores have played such a huge part in my life since forever. Eliza and I met in the local video store, at which she was a customer and I was a clerk. I actually know of THREE MARRIAGES that resulted from people meeting across that store’s counter. THREE! Center Video was a mystical sanctuary responsible for almost as many successful relationships as the island from “LOST.” It also has already been closed for a number of years. The one close to us that’s closing down now is a Blockbuster, of course. They managed to hold out the longest around here. The only good thing coming out of this is that I was able to buy the first 2 seasons of “True Blood” for under 40 bucks. Unbelievable, right? Now if we feel like going out and renting a movie, we better do it early, because it’ll have to be from a library and on the weekends they close at like 5 or 6. You may think I’m overreacting, but this is a rough blow for me. I love video stores.

Check out this video too. It’s a different perspective on PoPS production. One of the guys that came to help us out the other night brought his video camera and filmed some of his experience. The PoPS behind-the-scenes footage starts in earnest at about 1:15.

Jarvi out.

Leave a Reply

