Everything’s going blurry and I love it.

The video below has some footage from the episode 5 script read through. I tried to keep it fairly spoilers free, but even what’s decipherable in here was too much for some of my audience, and they were not afraid to let me know it in the comments.

I’ve always made it a point to read every comment that comes in when I put up a new video—be it part of a PoPS episode or just a little update. Communication with the audience has always been very important to me. Initially just because I was so excited to have people around that wanted to talk about what I was doing. Then it kind of became a point of pride. Several audience members told me how cool it was that I took the time to read every comment and respond to quite a few of them. But lately it’s been getting to me. You can actually SEE it getting to me in the video below, when I go out of my way to show extra footage from the production meeting to try and appease ONE COMMENTER. I think something has changed on my end, because I don’t think there’s that much difference in the comments. It just seems that every single video I put up, even just updates, somebody has something to complain about and so many people want to tell me how to do things differently. It’s really depressing after awhile. I’m wondering if I’m reaching that stage where in order to keep making stuff I have to limit my interaction with the vocal contingent of my audience. That would be sad, but maybe necessary. We’ll see. Next week I won’t read a bunch of comments right before writing this and there’ll be a lot less rhetorical complaining.

The title of this post has to do with the fact that we’ve begun shooting episode 5 of PoPS and we’ve been using a Canon 7D. It’s beautiful. The depth of field is so much more shallow and gorgeous than anything seen on our show before. I can’t wait for the audience to get a look at this episode. It’s really going to be something else to watch it all come together.

Oh, heavens! And while we’re talking about the PoPS audience, how about the other side of things? Our Kickstarter campaign just ended and our audience ended up donating a final total of more than $9,200 to our show. I know, right? I can’t believe it. Amazing people.

Thanks for reading, guys.

Leave a Reply

