Strange and Wonderful Things

So things have become what I would consider crazy. I’m just a normal guy, I come from a functional, middle class family, I have a lovely, low-stress relationship with my wife, I rent an apartment in the suburbs, I have a normal day-job for which I’m paid bi-monthly, and in the last 11 days almost 300 people I’ve never met in person donated more than $7,000 to our show.

This week’s entry is probably going to be a little bit all over the place because lots of strange and wonderful things have happened in the last week. Last Wednesday my wife, my friend Caitlin, and I went to go see Craig (from the video below) get interviewed at a venue in the suburbs. When I walked through the door of the venue, something happened to me that I have always wanted to happen but had never successfully fooled myself into thinking could actually happen…in reality. (I’ve read that 3 times now and am finally convinced it’s a real sentence.) I walked through the door of the venue, took off my hat—‘cause it’s cold in Chicago, and heard the words, “Hey, that’s Jake Jarvi.” I immediately turned to my wife and said, “Did you hear that?” I couldn’t believe it. The guy who said it then introduced himself to me using his Youtube username, which I instantly recognized from tons of comments and conversations on the PoPS boards, and another guy introduced himself to my wife, starting by saying, “I’m just going to act like I don’t recognize you. Hello, my name’s John.” I didn’t actually learn the first guy’s name was Michael until about two hours later. It was a really cool night and kind of wrinkled my brain. It was a little bit like being famous. When I asked Craig about this a little later he said that we would be more used to it if we went to more places where Youtube people congregated.

An update about the Kickstarter thing from last week–LINK TO KICKSTARTER-–as I write this on the evening of Wednesday January 26th, we’re $160 away from our goal of $7,500. It’s been 11 days since our Kickstarter went live. I’m not sure exactly what I expected when Tim and Ryan proposed this idea to me, but I don’t think it was this. It hasn’t even been two weeks. Now we have to wait for the end date we put on it which is the end of next friggin’ month. Tim hopes that donations continue and we can start saving for episode 6. That’d be cool, but I don’t really know what to expect. I’ve been saying that a lot lately.

Also since episode 4 went live we’ve been getting offers of help from a few different directions. A VFX house in Vancouver (with a totally bitchin’ reel) contacted us about doing some effects and an everything-and-the-kitchen-sink (from the sounds of it) post house in Australia also put their hat in the ring for anything post-related. I’m really excited for those conversations to continue and see how things work out.

I said I started working on the script for ep5 a couple weeks ago. I did. Why is it taking so long? A couple of reasons that day-job cowboys should take into account:

1—When people do you a favor by working on your show and then they have a video-related favor to ask, you have to drop whatever you’re doing, and do it. You lose time on your show, but you don’t lose any friends. Weigh it.

2—When a viewing audience gets large enough, it’s easy to want to spend all your time interacting with them instead of working on your show. I’ve instituted a “No Youtube/Facebook/Twitter policy” on myself until the script for ep5 is done. I also think that I may have to start imposing a “Twice a week policy” for visiting the sites in general or else all my work might start dropping off.

Speaking of, I need to go work on the script now. (That’s what I said in my NexTV post when I wrote it Wednesday. As I post this on Friday, I finished a first draft of the script last night: 47 pages, 57 scenes, 8,800 words, of which 4,500 were in dialogue. It might need a little trimming, and it definitely needs some proofreadin’.)

Thanks for reading, guys.

5 Responses to “Strange and Wonderful Things”

  1. The script is done?????? Hallelujah!

  2. You guys are so awesome. Keep up the amazing work.

  3. So does the no youtube rule mean that we have to wait for your interview?

  4. I’m really glad that everything is working out because I can’t wait for more PoPS episodes.

    ps, If I saw you in public, I might totally ask for your autograph…too much?

Leave a Reply

